Soon relief from unscheduled power cuts in Panchkula

Panchkula, July 30-

 Residents of Panchkula are soon going to get relief from the unscheduled power cuts as Haryana Vidhan Sabha Speaker, Sh Gian Chand Gupta has directed the Uttar Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam (UHBVN) to ensure that there are no frequent power cuts and said that in case power cut have to be made due to any reason, then prior information should be given in newspapers along with other mediums so that people do not have to face any inconvenience.  

Sh Gupta gave these directions in the meeting of District Electricity Committee, Panchkula held at PWD Rest House in Sector-1 here today. The meeting was presided over by former Union Minister and MP Ambala Lok Sabha , Sh Rattan Lal Kataria .Deputy Commissioner, Sh Mahavir Kaushik was also present on this occasion.

 Several complaints from industrial organizations

Sh Gupta said that several complaints have been received from the industrial organizations of the Panchkula stating that they have to face frequent unscheduled power cuts which resulted in production losses. He said that as the Industrial sector contributes significantly in the economic development of the country and State, steps should be taken to resolve the problem of power cuts at the earliest. Besides, he also directed to ensure uninterrupted power supply to domestic and agricultural consumers. At present there are a total 1,80,982 electricity consumers in Panchkula Circle which includes 1,54,305 domestic consumers, 17,851 non-domestic, 2,512 industrial, 5,316 agricultural and 998 other consumers. He said that the Sub-division Barwala under Panchkula Electricity Circle should be shifted from Pinjore Division to Panchkula Division.

To ensure transparency in the delivery of various services

Sh  Gupta directed that with a view to ensure transparency in the delivery of various services, citizen’s charter having information about the documents required for taking all types of electricity connections should be made available in all Circle offices and bill collections centres of Panchkula, so that consumers do not have to make frequent round of offices.

 He also directed to ensure that various services like new connection, extension or reduction of load, change of name and reconnection should be given to the consumers within the time limit as prescribed under the Right to Service Act. On this occasion, Sh Gupta also appreciated the Uttar Haryana Bijli Vitran Nigam for having less line losses in Panchkula as compared to all the districts of the state.

 Main objective to review overall development of power supply infrastructure

MP Sh Rattan Lal Kataria said that the main objective of the District Electricity Committee is to review and coordinate the overall development of power supply infrastructure in the district in accordance with the schemes of the Government. He directed the UHBVN to take steps to further strengthen power infrastructure in the district.

It was informed in the meeting that under the Mahara Gaon-Jagmag Gaon scheme, all 107 villages of Panchkula circle are getting 24 hours electricity through 12 feeders. Apart from this, in the year 2022-23, there is a proposal to augment the existing transformer capacity of 66 KV Sub Station Kalka, 220 KV Sub Station Madanpur and 220 KV Sub Station Pinjore. In addition, a new 66 KV sub-station in Industrial Area, Phase-I and an additional transformer of 12.5/16MVA capacity at 220 KV sub-station at Raiwali is also under active consideration.

35 new transformers have been installed in rural areas 

It was also informed that 35 new transformers have been installed in rural areas and the capacity of 27 transformers has been augmented. Similarly, 49 new transformers have been installed in urban areas and the capacity of 37 transformers has been increased.

Among those present in the meeting included Superintendent Engineer UHBVN Sudhakar Tiwari, XEN, City Panchkula Bhupinder Singh Wadhavan, XEN Pinjore Neeraj Kamboj, SDO City Panchkula Sanjay Verma, SDO Sub Urban Surendra Sharma, SDO Madanpur Arun Goyal, SDO Mansa Devi Nirmal Singh, SDO Barwala Ashish Chopra, SDO Raipurrani Ayush Goyal, SDO Pinjore Satyavan Nain and SDO Kalka Neeraj Kumar.